Guyra puts their lambs on Show

Above l to r: Luke Heagney (President NELA), Chad Williamson (Guyra Show Society), winners of Grand Champion pen of lambs Hamish and Anita Hunter and David MCathie (Mort & Co)
12th Mar 2024

The 2024 New England Livestock Agents (NELA) Guyra Lamb Show and Sale was held at the Guyra Saleyards on Wednesday March 12th, in conjunction with the weekly Sheep and Lamb Sale.
This year’s entrants were judged on pens of 20 in the following categories:
Best pen ofTrade Lambs, Best pen of Export Lambs, and Overall Champion pen of Lambs.
Judging was conducted by livestock buyers Andrew Jackson and Luke Wellings.
The Champion pen of Trade Lambs was awarded to Stafford Youman and Reserve Champion went to Emma and Maddie Dawson.
The Champion pen of Export Lambs was awarded to Hamish and Anita Hunter with Reserve Champion going to the Tom Nic Trust.
The Overall Grand Champion pen of lambs was awarded to Hamish and Anita Hunter and were sold by Nutrien Guyra for $220.
President of New England Livestock Agents (NELA) Luke Heagney said that it was good to see there were of plenty of good lambs lined up to go in the Show.
“Thank you to all the vendors who participated in this year’s Show,” Luke said.
“Credit goes to producers on the preparation and presentation of their entries.
“It is good to see there is plenty of confidence in the job at the moment and with the season looking the way it is, things are looking up.
“Overall the market is reasonably strong at the moment and the good lambs are making their money.
“At the beginning of 2024, NELA made a decision to change the sale day, moving it from Wednesday to Tuesday which has made a huge difference.
“We have been able to go back to a weekly sale, and we are yarding plenty of lambs every week. “That’s is a good thing for the centre, the community and all the producers around the area.”
Special thanks go to Mort & Co (Guyra Mill) for their generous donation towards the prizes on offer and to Guyra Show Society for their continued support and supply of the winners’ ribbons.

click for larger image