116th Guyra Show - Shearing

Local shearers Brett Mayled, Erick Klabe, Luke Foster and Jeremy Newberry
27th Feb 2024

Shearing at the Show 2024
We had a very good roll up of 38 shearers on Saturday for the Guyra Silvershears. It was very pleasing to see a couple of young locals have a go in the Novice, all of 10 and 13 years of age. This year’s recipient of the Harry Williams Memorial Plaque for the best quality local shear was Luke Foster.
It was very pleasing to see the great crowd we had all throughout the day. Many thanks goes to all that helped out on the day including the judges, timekeepers, Jock Mallise on the microphone, the penner uppers out the back and the scorer.
A big thank you to Wayne and Lorraine Jenkyn for supplying the sheep and to Trevor and Deidre Tarrant for carting the sheep. Thank you to our many sponsors who donated both money and prizes. Thank you to all those, shearers and draggers, who continue to donated their time to come and help us shear rams to raise our prize money and to those who helped crutch the lambs for the show.
Thank you to the shearing committee for the countless hours of organising and effort into running such a successful shearing competition. We auctioned off some quality local lambs and would like to thank the farmers who donated the lambs and those who supported us by purchasing the lambs.
Thank you to everyone who supported our wood raffle and to those who organised, cut and split and supplied the wood for the raffle. The winners of the wood were 1st Audrey Chapman 2nd Joe Tawhai 3rd Alf Looker. Thank you and we hope to see you at the shearing next year.
Sportshear Results were:
1st Bella Thompson – Swan
2nd Hayden Wallace - Black
3rd Britt Phillips - Pilliga,
4th Jason Naylor – Walcha
1st Jack Lockyer - Guyra,
2nd Andrew Kelly – Walcha,
3rd Jack Hillier –
4th Ned Garrahy – Uralla
1st Ewan Winter – Glen Innes
2nd Ray Grob - Glen Innes
3rd Jake Pilley – Hargraves
4th Kurt Layton – Bundarra
1st Daniel McIntyre – Glen
2nd Luke Foster - Guyra
3rd Jeremy Newberry –
4th Erick Klabe – Guyra
1st Jeremy Newberry
2nd Luke Foster
3rd Erick Klabe
4th Brett Mayled

Bruce Reeves.
Head Stewart