National Emergency Medal presented to local firefighters

Above: Reylene Shearer received the National Emergency Medal and the Premier’s Bushfire Citation on behalf of the late Barry Lockyer
12th Sep 2023

The National Emergency Medal is part of the
Australian Honours and Awards system.  Following the events of the black summer bush fire season of 2019/2020, the Governor-General determined the
National Emergency Medal be awarded to persons who rendered sustained or significant service.
This medal was recently presented to Matt Friend, Captain of Black Mountain Brigade and Michael Jackson, Deputy Captain of Black Mountain Brigade.
The Late Barry Lockyer, Guyra Brigade also received the medal which was presented to Barry’s partner Raylene Shearer. The Premier’s Bushfire Citation was also presented to Raylene.
Long Service Medals/Clasps for long service were also presented to Matthew Jackson, Black Mountain Brigade (10 Years Long Service) and Michael Jackson (30 Years Long Service).
The awards were among those handed out at a special ceremony in Armidale on August 5th.
Also recognised for long service were a number of locals who were not at the presentation
10 Years Long Service: Ben Jackson, Tenterden Brigade, Charles White, Tenterden Brigade and Jodie Stewart, Tenterden Brigade.
20 Years Long Service: Vicki Bell, Black Mountain Brigade and Tim Youman, Black Mountain Brigade.

40 Years Long Service: Wayne Jenkyn, Black Mountain Brigade and Ron Walls, Black Mountain Brigade.